25 Metro Areas Are Now Eligible for CARE Act Funding

With AIDS incidence and mortality skyrocketing, seven more metropolitan regions became eligible for Title I (Part A) funding as Eligible Metropolitan Areas (EMAs), bringing the total number of EMAs to 25. A year earlier, in 1992, 2 regions had been added to the 16 funded in 1991.

Areas eligible for funding under Title I statutes are those with

  • more than 2,000 reported AIDS cases in the most recent 5-year period, and
  • populations of at least 500,000.

Many elements made the Title I program unique among other Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program Initiatives. For example, as adopted, a local Planning Council, with at least 25 percent of members being people living with HIV/AIDS (PLWHA), established spending priorities for the jurisdiction. (That proportion has since been raised to 33 percent.) Priorities were based on needs assessments among the local HIV-positive population.

The grantee's administrative agency (typically, the local health department) enters into contracts with local providers of services to PLWHA.

With the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Treatment Modernization Act of 2006, several changes were made in the Part A Program and continued through the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Treatment Extension Act of 2009.

In 1991, when the CARE Act was first funded, Titles I and II were funded evenly, at approximately $87.8 million. In the years immediately following, however, Title I funding grew more significantly than did funding for Title II. Title I funding remained higher than that for Title II until 1998, by which time appropriations to ADAP were growing more rapidly than for any other program.

Eligible Metropolitan Areas
In 1991 Added in 1992 Added in 1993
Atlanta, GA Baltimore, MD Detroit, MI
Boston, MA Oakland, CA Nassau-Suffolk, NY
Chicago, IL New Orleans, LA
Dallas, TX Orange County, CA
Fort Lauderdale, FL Ponce, PR
Houston, TX Seattle, WA
Jersey City, NJ Tampa-Saint Petersburg, FL
Los Angeles, CA
Miami, FL
New York, NY
Newark, NJ
Philadelphia, PA
San Diego, CA
San Francisco, CA
San Juan, PR
Washington, DC