1. Home
  2. About the Program
  3. Program Parts & Initiatives
  4. Part A: Grants to Eligible Metropolitan and Transitional Areas

Part A: Grants to Eligible Metropolitan and Transitional Areas

The Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program Part A funds grants to Eligible Metropolitan Areas (EMAs) and Transitional Grant Areas (TGAs) that are most affected by the HIV epidemic.

Which areas receive Part A grants?

We award Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program (RWHAP) Part A grants to the city or county chief elected official (CEO). The CEO may choose a lead agency to manage the grants.

Eligible Metropolitan Areas (EMAs) Transitional Grant Areas (TGAs)
  • Atlanta, GA
  • Baltimore, MD
  • Boston, MA
  • Chicago, IL
  • Dallas, TX
  • Detroit, MI
  • Ft. Lauderdale, FL
  • Houston, TX
  • Los Angeles, CA
  • Miami, FL
  • Nassau Suffolk, NY
  • New Haven, CT
  • New Orleans, LA
  • New York, NY
  • Newark, NJ
  • Orlando, FL
  • Philadelphia, PA
  • Phoenix, AZ
  • San Diego, CA
  • San Francisco, CA
  • San Juan, PR
  • Tampa-St. Petersburg, FL
  • Washington, DC
  • West Palm Beach, FL
  • Austin, TX
  • Baton Rouge, LA
  • Bergen-Passaic, NJ
  • Charlotte-Gastonia, NC/SC
  • Cleveland-Lorain-Elyria, OH
  • Columbus, OH
  • Denver, CO
  • Ft. Worth, TX
  • Hartford, CT
  • Indianapolis, IN
  • Jacksonville, FL
  • Jersey City, NJ
  • Kansas City, MO
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • Memphis, TN
  • Middlesex-Somerset-Hunterdon, NJ
  • Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN
  • Nashville, TN
  • Norfolk, VA
  • Oakland, CA
  • Orange County, CA
  • Portland, OR
  • Riverside-San Bernardino, CA
  • Sacramento, CA
  • San Antonio, TX
  • San Jose, CA
  • Seattle, WA
  • St. Louis, MO

How are areas eligible for Part A grants?

The U.S. Census selects Metropolitan Statistical Areas. These form the boundaries of EMAs and TGAs and may span more than one state.

How areas qualify for EMA status

  • At least 2,000 AIDS cases in the most recent five years
  • The population of at least 50,000

How areas qualify for TGA status

  • Between 1,000 to 1,999 AIDS cases in the most recent five years
  • The population of at least 50,000

What services must grant recipients provide?

Part A grant recipients must ensure that the following core medical and support services are available to people with HIV. Part A grant recipients must use at least 75% of their funding on core medical services and no more than 25% on support services. You need approval to waive these requirements.

Core Medical Services Support Services
  • AIDS Drug Assistance Program Treatments
  • AIDS Pharmaceutical Assistance
  • Early Intervention Services
  • Health Insurance Premium and Cost Sharing Assistance for Low-Income Individuals
  • Home and Community-Based Health Services
  • Home Health Care
  • Hospice
  • Medical Case Management, including Treatment-Adherence Services
  • Medical Nutrition Therapy
  • Mental Health Services
  • Oral Health Care
  • Outpatient/Ambulatory Health Services
  • Substance Abuse Outpatient Care
  • Child Care Services
  • Emergency Financial Assistance
  • Food Bank/Home Delivered Meals
  • Health Education/Risk Reduction
  • Housing
  • Linguistic Services
  • Medical Transportation
  • Non-Medical Case Management Services
  • Other Professional Services
  • Outreach Services
  • Psychosocial Support Services
  • Referral for Health Care and Support Services
  • Rehabilitation Services
  • Respite Care
  • Substance Abuse Services (residential)


What’s the role of HIV Planning Councils and Planning Bodies?

The Chief Elected Official is responsible for creating a Planning Council (PC) or Planning Body (PB) to lead the development of a comprehensive HIV service system for the EMA/TGA.

Section 2602(b) of Title XXVI of the Public Health Service Act outlines the roles and responsibilities of the PC. Section 2609(d)(1) outlines the requirement for TGAs to have a formal community input process (e.g., a PB) to formulate develop the plan for HIV-related service priority setting and resource allocation in TGAs. HRSA HAB strongly encourages TGAs to retain a PC if one exists.

The PC/PB carries out many complex planning tasks to assess the service needs of people with HIV living in the jurisdiction and specifies the types of services to meet those needs. PCs and PBs must follow the legislative and programmatic expectations:

PC membership requirements

  • Must reflect the demographics of the local epidemic
  • Must include representation from required membership categories outlined in legislation
  • Must include “unaffiliated” or “unaligned” (i.e., they do not have a conflict of interest) people with HIV who receive RWHAP Part A services. This group must comprise at least 33% of voting members

PB membership expectations

  • Should include representatives of the various stakeholders in the TGA
  • Should reflect the demographics of the population of individuals with HIV in the jurisdiction
  • Should include “unaffiliated” or “unaligned” (i.e., they do not have a conflict of interest) people with HIV who receive RWHAP Part A services. This group should comprise at least 33% of the PB

See the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program Planning Council and Planning Body Requirements and Expectations Letter (PDF - 35 KB) for additional information.

Date Last Reviewed: